Skip to main content
Go to search page

Basin Community Committee

The Basin Community Committee provides a community perspective on a wide range of water resource, environmental, cultural and socioeconomic matters.

Basin Community Committee (BCC) members are selected based on their expertise or interest in water use, water management, Indigenous and local government matters.

BCC members are key local contacts for the Authority. They report on community concerns and issues around Basin Plan implementation and provide information to Basin communities on our programs. The BCC also engages with other advisory communities established by the Authority.

They advise on:

  • community matters relating to the Basin water resources
  • matters referred to the BCC by the Authority.

To assist in its advisory role the BCC forms irrigation, environmental water and Indigenous water subcommittees. These committees help better inform any advice to the Authority and Ministerial Council.

Basin Community Committee members


Phil Duncan - Chair (Gwydir)

Phil, a Gomeroi man from Moree, has provided high level policy and strategic advice to key Aboriginal representative organisations, State and Federal Governments as well as key external stakeholder groups. Phil has more than 38 years of experience working with Aboriginal people, communities and liaising with Governments.

Lower Balonne

Rory Treweeke - (Lower Balonne)

Rory is a floodplain grazier from Lightning Ridge. Rory is an experienced leader in natural resource management and has been involved in water issues since the 1970s. Rory became chair of the Basin Community Committee on 1 July 2013, is currently a member of the Lower Balonne Water Network and the Australian Floodplain Association, and was previously Chair of the Western Catchment Management Authority. Rory is a returning member of the Basin Community Committee.


Amy Fay (Goulburn-Murray)

Amy lives in Echuca and is the manager of strategic projects for Murray Dairy. She runs an agricultural project management company Propagate Projects. Amy was a former chair of the National Farmers' Federation Innovation Committee. She has been selected in the 2018 Australian Rural Leadership Program.


Karen Hutchinson (Murrumbidgee)

Karen lives in the Riverina. She was a key advocate for Basin communities during the development of the Basin Plan. She is part of the senior management team at Murrumbidgee Irrigation Limited, the largest private irrigation infrastructure operator in NSW, as the company's General Manager for Policy and Communications. In 2011 Karen was awarded the prestigious RIRDC Rural Woman of the Year for NSW. Karen is a returning member of the Basin Community Committee.

Lower Lakes

Emily Jenke (Lower Lakes)

Emily owns and runs two businesses in the Basin - an olive oil business in Strathalbyn and a specialist engagement consultancy that operates nationally and internationally. Emily is the current chair of the SA Native Vegetation Council and is also a member of the River Murray Advisory Committee.

Lower Darling

Howard Jones (Lower Darling)

Howard currently owns and manages a vineyard with his wife in the in the Coomealla Irrigation Area of NSW. He grew up on the Wimmera River and has developed a deep passion for the preservation of rivers and the wetlands. He became a member of the Basin Community Committee in 2013 and offers more than 20 years of knowledge and experience in the irrigation industry. Howard is a returning member of the Basin Community Committee.


Susan Madden - Authority member (Dubbo)

Susan is one of the six members of the Murray–Darling Basin Authority. She has extensive experience in agricultural economics and agricultural and resource management. She is Chair of the Central West Local Land Services and sits on the Local Land Services Board of Chairs.


Neil Martinson (Riverland)

Neil is Mayor of the Renmark Paringa Council in SA, is the chair of Regional Development Australia Murraylands and Riverland Incorporated, and is a member of the South Australian River Murray Sustainability program.

Lower Balonne

Samantha O'Toole (Lower Balonne)

Samantha is a small business owner in St George Queensland. She is a councillor with the Balonne Shire, where she holds the water portfolio.


Sandra Peckham (Bogan)

Sandra is a descendant of the Wiradjuri people of Dandaloo-Bogan River-Warramunga people. She has worked with Aboriginal organisations and programs to improve health, housing, education and economic opportunities for Aboriginal people.

Lower Lakes

Jo Pfeiffer (SA, below Lock 1)

Jo operates an irrigation beef farm with her husband in the Lower Murray Swamps at Murray Bridge in South Australia. She has been involved at many levels of decision and policy making for water resource management for more than 20 years. Jo was an inaugural member of both the SA River Murray Catchment Water Management Board and the SA Murray-Darling Basin Natural Resource Management Board. Jo is a returning member of the Basin Community Committee.


Sue Rudd (Sunraysia)

Sue is a small business owner from Merbein in Victoria. She is a graduate of the Northern Mallee Leadership Program and was a founding member of the Women Advancing Rural Communities Group.

Upper Murray

David Thurley (Upper Murray)

From Lavington NSW, David is a councillor with the Albury City Council and is National President of the Murray-Darling Association.


Adrian Weston (Goulburn-Broken)

Adrian is a mixed cropping irrigator and dryland grazier from Rushworth Victoria. He is a Mayor with the shire of Campaspe, and he is deputy chair of the Goulburn-Broken Catchment Management Authority.



Updated: 12 Dec 2019