Skip to main content
Go to search page

Bilateral agreements with Basin state and territory governments

In late 2018 the Murray–Darling Basin Ministerial Council were updated on water resource plans (WRPs) and contingencies and agreed that the key WRP commitments will be in place from 1 July 2019.

Consistent with this Ministerial Council decision, Basin states and territory governments have agreed to enter into bilateral agreements with the Commonwealth to ensure key elements of the water resource plans are given effect from 1 July 2019 where WRPs are not accredited by that date. The agreements will ensure that sustainable diversion limits and measures to protect and better manage environmental water are in place from 1 July 2019.

More about water resource plans


New South Wales

MDBA and NSW signed a bilateral agreement in February 2019 to bring key Basin Plan commitments into effect from 1 July 2019. This agreement promotes transparency and gives the MDBA and the community confidence in the consistent application of key Basin Plan elements across all NSW catchments.

Published: 12 Mar 2019  •   Governance